The Lebanese International University (LIU) was first founded as the Bekaa University under Presidential Decree No. 5294 in April 2001, with its first two campuses in Al-Khyara, in the western Bekaa valley and the capital Beirut. The name was later changed to the Lebanese International University (LIU), for the founders had a vision of making the university a true national university with a presence in all six administrative districts which so comprise Lebanon. As career-oriented institution with the mission of creating access to higher education for first generation students who otherwise would not have the opportunity to join the professional workforce. With a commitment to democratize higher education and empowerment, the university since 2003 and until 2013 established seven additional campuses in: Saida, Nabatieh, Tripoli, Mount Lebanon, Tyre, Rayak, and Halba-Akkar.

As it has since its beginning LIU is also elevating the university’s regional and international prominence as extensive development and significant academic achievements took place under the leadership of Mr. Abdul Rahim Mourad, founder President since 2001 to present. Undergirded by its own institutional mission of taking the university to where the needs are. As a mark of this success, LIU went beyond Lebanon and since 2006 has further established four campuses in Yemen (Sanaa, Aden and Taiz); one in Mauritania and Senegal . In continuity with its tradition and history the university will continue to be a pioneering institution notable for its innovative and creative response to the changes in educational needs be it in Lebanon, in Saudi Arabia and other countries in the Arab World, Africa and beyond.